On the Road–Goodbye California

California has been a wealth of automotive adventures.  I still have places to write about there, but today I needed to stretch the P71’s legs and get to Oregon.

P1110988

But before I left I was pulled to take a look at a place in northern California that caught my eye as I was heading north.

P1110991

Here was a building that was repurposed as a shop that specialized in the air-cooled vintage VW’s.

P1110992

It was closed, but I still enjoyed the visual feast.  It brought back many memories.

P1110993

My father bought one of the first Karman Ghia’s and it was a very sporty version of the VW bug.  Most people didn’t recognize it as a VW.

P1110994

This guy really has quite a collection.

P1110995

Here is an old single port engine.

P1110996

And some shifters.

P1120003

It was fun to spend a few minutes here before the P71 and I headed to Oregon.

P1120023

This entry was posted in Automobiles, Car Stuff, Cars, Life and Cars, Road Trips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

