On the Road–Interesting People

I was traveling from east Texas to Dallas after discovering that the GAF museum was no longer in existence. I wanted to stay off the Interstate so I could get a better feel for the people and the countryside.

As I traveled along I spotted what at first glance was an antique shop.

P1080883

The classic old road grader caught my eye and I captured a few shots of it.

P1080877

P1080878

Then as I looked around I wasn’t quite sure if the place was open or not as I couldn’t locate an entry door at first.

P1080884

Then I found it and went in.

There was Mr. Harold Wells, the owner of the place.  He was also the local State Farm insurance agent, and the mayor of the town of Gladewater, TX.

P1080879

Obviously he was a collector and trader in memorabilia and antiques, or as he said his wife described it – he was a hoarder.  But he didn’t just collect things, he really did find buyers and collectors.

P1080881P1080882

He and I had a very nice chat about what he did and how he got there.  Occasionally interrupted by a phone call from an insured or someone in the town that had to talk to the mayor.

It was so pleasant to meet him and learn some of those things about a town that you would never get if you were buzzing by on the Interstate.

It turned out that he also collected a few interesting cars.  Unfortunately he really had to stay around his office, but maybe I can make my way back some day and stay a bit longer.

This entry was posted in Automobiles, Car Stuff, Cars, Life and Cars, Road Trips and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On the Road–Interesting People

  1. Judy Knell says:

    Are those 45’s or 78’s from Sun Records?

Leave a Reply

