On the Road to Newfoundland – Mt. Washington

Mount Washington is well over 6000 feet high and has some of the nastiest weather.  Winds have been measured over 240 mph.  It also has an eight mile road from the bottom to the top and there are no guard rails with just enough room for two cars.  I drove the Evo up it and probably increased the pucker factor in some of the car passengers and drivers that met me as I climbed.  Here is a video of the drive down:

This entry was posted in Car Stuff, Cars, Great Roads, Road Trips, Sports Cars. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On the Road to Newfoundland – Mt. Washington

  1. Eric h says:

    Wow that view looks incredible I’m jealous man have an awesome trip!!!! How do you have the camera mounted?

  2. Karen says:

    As the saying goes, “been there, done that” and I’m never doing it again. I came down with my eyes closed after enduring the ride up. The passenger seat was not a fun place to enjoy the scenery with no guardrail. Perhaps the only thing more frightening was my ride in the BMW taxi going around the Nurburgring at top speed. I got tossed around like a rag doll even with the seatbelt on.

    • jimsgarage says:

      Ha!

      I know what you mean about the Mt. Washington road, though. Even as a driver I had to keep my concentration just on the road. If I had let my attention drift to any of the spectacular scenery I would have lost it and taken the short way back down.

Leave a Reply

