Waiting for the Right Time

The replacement is a 2006 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IX MR SE.  Whew, what a mouthful!  It was delivered to me last Friday and had just 5000 miles on the odometer. 

p4198186

I had a chance to get it up on a lift on Sunday and was fairly pleased with what it is.  The MR designation means that it has the six-speed transmission and the Bilstein suspension.  The SE designation means that it has a nice front lip, red stitching on the seats, a darker version of the BBS wheels, and a couple of other items.  The Evolution IX has a very different front bumper cover and Mitsubishi only produced it for one year.

It was fortunate that I was able to retrieve many key parts so that I could have a very good start at recreating the Evo VIII MR that took its last turn at VIR three weeks ago.

I will not try to duplicate the car, but I do want to achieve the same level of performance that it had.  If I can I would like to get a little more out of it.

I have an excellent exhaust solution where I will use the stainless steel TIG welded O2 sensor housing and the Tanabe downpipe after the turbo.  I still have the high flow cat and the Greddy titanium exhaust.  Turbos really like to breath and the exhaust I have saved does that well.  I am also considering a Tomei ARMS turbo upgrade.  We will see what the budget allows.

Cams made a real difference in the power band of my previous Evolution.  They were by GSC and were the Stage 1 cams that provided plenty of mid-range and substantial top end power.  Fortunately GSC makes a MIVEC compatible cam.  MIVEC is Mitsubishi’s variable valve timing that was something that set the Evo IX apart from its predecessors.

As you build pressure through turbo charging you also generate hot air and an up-rated intercooler is in order.  I found the Greddy M that I used previously fit with almost no modification and worked very well.  The Mitsumoto radiator enhanced the cooling system as the engine’s power increased so did the heat it generated.

The stock fuel pump will be replaced with a 255 lph model that will ensure that I don’t lean out and burn a hole in a piston.  The stock fuel injectors should be perfectly fine for my needs.

Jestr did a great job in providing me an ECU tune that paid off so I plan to use his services once more. 

For the suspension upgrades I will keep with the ones that did so well with the Evolution VIII.  The factory Bilstein shock work great with the Swift Spec R springs.  Road Race Engineering has a great rear anti-roll bar that will replace the stock one.  A Whiteline roll center correction kit and rear bump steer kit will be installed along with much bracing.  The Mitsubishi rear strut brace and trunk bar came out of my old car as well as an APR brace for between the lower front control arms.  I was also able to retrieve the fender braces that go under the front fenders.  Those braces really improved the front alignment specs.

I have a set of MR BBS wheels with a set of fresh Bridgestone Potenza RE01R tires that are new.  I can just swap out the wheels and tires and be ready to roll.  The rubber on the current wheels will be replaced by the new Potenza RE11R tires and will be ready for a future swap.

That covers the majority of the modifications.  I won’t be getting started on any of them for a few more weeks.  I have parts on order and the Evo is now in my garage for a while.

I’ll try to keep everyone posted as to the progress.

This entry was posted in Cars. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Waiting for the Right Time

  1. Campygoob says:

    Jim,

    Need help doing these Mods? You know my labor rates.

    Fred

  2. jimsgarage says:

    I would love your help.

  3. Lee K says:

    Hot damn, a IX! Glad to hear this story has a happy (if somewhat expensive) ending.

  4. SLang says:

    Tomei ARMS, Yessir!

  5. Alex says:

    Awesome new ride. Have fun modding it to perfection 🙂

    BTW, I have finally added you to my RSS reader 🙂

Leave a Reply

