Coming Soon to Jim’s Garage

Well folks I have located a 2006 Evolution MR SE just over the border in South Carolina.  It has just under 5000 miles and looks to be in excellent condition. It is the same silver that the old one was.

The insurance company will allow me to remove any items off the old car that are not Mitsubishi as long as I replace them with factory items.  Luckily I saved a lot of my original stuff so I should be able to get the new car in much the same condition in no time.

I’ll do my best to keep everyone posted.

This entry was posted in Cars. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Coming Soon to Jim’s Garage

  1. Tim says:

    Jim, you know, I think you’re moving too slow with finding another Evo. You need to strike while the iron is hot, and frankly, you’re dragging ass. Pick up the pace man.

    On another note, let me know if you need help acquiring said car. My time is very free during the week, but after this Saturday will become very limited…

  2. Alex says:

    Jim,
    Sorry to hear about the car, but glad to hear that you’ll be able to recover most of your aftermarket parts from the old Evo. Can’t wait to see your next post on the progress of Evo 2.0

  3. Noel says:

    Jim,
    You’ve never been slow to move on this kind of thing! Great to find a new ride so fast. And being able to move your parts over is great. Are you going to keep the new car the same as the old one or do you some more tricks up your sleeve?

    Just curious… what kind of insurance do you carry for this? Is it a rider on your main policy or a separate track policy?

  4. jimsgarage says:

    I learned a lot as I went through my Evo 8 and I plan to keep the things that paid off and drop the things that didn’t. I hope to get the suspension to the same point with appropriate bracing and springs, etc. The engine may take a while. The exhaust will be a swap, but I will look for another cam solution since the Evo 9 uses a variable intake cam.
    Up to this point I have just used the regular policy. In the future I may take out track specific insurance.

  5. markitude says:

    Jim,

    You know me…

    So I have to propose an alternative. Sometimes insurance companies will let you buy the totaled wreck for about 20% – i.e. they pay out about 80% and you keep the wreck. If owned outright, this can be a good deal, if you had to settle out with the bank, this might or might not make sense. I’m just thinking about all the hours of part swapping, plus the possibility of rebuilding this one and dedicating it as a track car while you buy the Evo 9 as a daily driver….

    Mark

  6. Noel says:

    Jim,
    I agree with Mark. Of course it depends on the damage under the skin, and the thickness of your wallet, but having a dedicated track car makes a whole lot of sense, especially since you head for the track as often as possible.

    It might be worth thinking what would be an ideal situation and see how close to that you could get. I know your perfectionist gene might get in the way, but a track car with fewer streetability compromises would probably be pretty satisfying…

  7. Dean says:

    Ouch!! Sorry about the mishap with the tire wall! Glad you were OK. If you pass through Wilmington on your way to SC, let me know…

  8. Rick ZO6 says:

    Congrats on finding another great car. I suggest leaving the car bone stock and using 89 octane on track days so I might be able to keep up!
    Hope to meet again at our track…I know once you get done with your new EVO that Fred and I will really have to step it up…your friend, Rick.

  9. markitude says:

    Jim,

    How about an update? Word on the street is that your new arrival has indeed arrived and you are amassing quite the stockpile of new parts for it…

    Any truth to these rumors? Pics? Teasers?

    Mark

Leave a Reply

