Bridgestone Potenza RE-11

Thanks to Tim for the heads up on this one.

I have been enjoying the advantages of the Bridgestone Potenza RE-01R tires on the track as well as on the road in 2008 and now Bridgestone has pulled out all the stops to introduce an F1 based tire that will provide even more extreme grip.

Here is a quote from Tire Rack:

The Potenza RE-11 is an Extreme Performance Summer tire developed for enthusiastic sports car, sports coupe and performance sedan drivers. The Potenza RE-11 is designed to combine traction, handling and driving control with good noise and ride comfort. The Potenza RE-11 is tuned for dry and wet conditions, but like all summer tires is not intended to be driven in near-freezing temperatures, through snow or on ice.

The Potenza RE-11 is the first Potenza street tire to incorporate Bridgestone’s 3D Seamless Stealth technology originally introduced in their Formula 1 and GP2 racing tires. The Potenza RE-11 features an asymmetric tread pattern that combines massive outboard independent shoulder blocks interlocked with a notched circumferential intermediate rib that provides the lateral stiffness needed to enhance steering response and increase dry cornering traction. Inboard, a continuous intermediate rib and notched shoulder rib are separated by wide, straight circumferential grooves that provide water evacuation to resist hydroplaning and enhance wet traction.

The tire’s internal structure features a custom designed asymmetric shape that helps distribute footprint pressure more evenly by keeping the straighter outboard sidewall from “falling down” while helping the more rounded inboard sidewall resist “falling away” during aggressive cornering. Two wide steel belts reinforced by spirally wound nylon provide strength, uniform ride quality and high-speed capability.

 This tire has been available outisde of the US for almost a year.  Here is a YouTube video of a Japanese news clip on the tire.

Looks like the track budget is blown again.

This entry was posted in Cars, Modifying Cars, Road Racing, tires and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bridgestone Potenza RE-11

  1. dowroa says:

    Hey Jim!

    So, I am not an avid “track” guy, but this tire has been discussed in several locations for a little bit. Without hands on the tire, it is really an “unknown quantity at this point, but maybe it is worth noting that the RE01 was “off the pace” for autoX. With that stated, I think it is generally a performance/pricepoint, however I thought the current reigning champ is the Dunlop Star Spec (which I will be running at VIR Full on Feb 7/8). At this point, for grip, slip angle, price, and livability; I didn’t think anything came close to the Star Spec (relativistically speaking), with the highly debatable order being:

    Star Spec > Bridgestone RE070 > RT-615 > RE01 > RT215

    While I am not so sure how I would vouch for the low end of the spectrum, nor would I put my “name” on the line for being an authoritative source, I don’t think any budget has to be “blown”.

    For track use, I would ask my colleges, but I think there are plenty of “good alternatives” without having to break the bank for a pricey yet non-dominate/unknown tire at this point.

    YMMV. 🙂

    – brian

  2. jimsgarage says:

    It is my understanding that Bridgestone came out with these because of the Dunlop Star Spec and didn’t want to be an also ran. I’m not sure what they will be selling for in the US. The budget comment was because my 01R set isn’t even close to being worn out.

  3. dowroa says:

    IIRC, this is already going on-sale in the US, specifically at TireRack.com:

    TireRack Link:

    NASIOC Dicussion:
    From Luke @ TireRack: http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1677913&highlight=RE11
    General User Discussion: http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1678659
    Link That was taken down: http://www.tirerack.com/tires/Spec.jsp?make=Bridgestone&model=Potenza+RE-11&tirePageLocQty=&PID=3202266&AID=10398365&

    🙂

    I agree it will be interesting. Re01s like the Advan046(/8?) are great tires, and I only know what is “on pace” for autoX, not track as the experiences are different.

    Regardless, I am/all are all waiting for official information for the US-spec version of these tires. I think the price point will place me out of getting these, however.

    Oh, and I am sorry I haven’t stated it yet, but your blog is very well written. I have enjoyed going back through your backlog reading your opinions and experiences. They were written in a way I could really relate with how you conveyed what you were doing. Thanks for writing it all up — it helped me immensely.

    – brian

    Ps. Hope this isn’t a double post. got auto-logged out last time.

  4. jimsgarage says:

    Brian –

    Thanks for you contributions and thanks for the kind words on my writing. Look for my Evo at VIR and drop by and say hello.

    Jim

  5. Troy says:

    Great blog Jim. Came across it while doing some research on race tires. Look forward to keeping up on your posts. Troy

Leave a Reply

