Jim’s Garage – on the Air!

This coming Saturday evening – June 21 – I will be a guest on the Pat Desmarais show on WBZ radio out of Boston, MA.  It is an AM station and the frequency is 1030.  Since it is AM it reaches 38 states as well as parts of Canada.

If you always had questions, but never wrote in a comment to this blog here is your chance to call up and get on the air with it.  The call-in number to the radio station is 617-254-1030. 

Unless a big news story breaks the show will go from 7:00 PM until 9:00 PM.  This should be a lot of fun and I am looking forward to it.

This entry was posted in Cars. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Jim’s Garage – on the Air!

  1. Nick says:

    Hey Jim,

    I really enjoyed the show today. My first and current car is a 98 Oldsmobile Intrigue, I got it used 5 years ago with 50,000 miles on it. The car has been great to me, but now it’s up to 115,000 miles and I need to start thinking about getting a new car. I am 21, so I am looking to get a safe car that will last 5-7 years and that will be very affordable over that time. Any suggestions?

    Thanks,
    Nick

  2. jimsgarage says:

    Nick –

    I’m so glad you enjoyed the radio show. It was a lot of fun for me to be on WBZ with Pat.

    People often ask me what kind of car they should consider. Really it depends on what you need in terms of transportation. If you have a family then you will need something with some room. Can you afford new or are you just looking at the pre-owned?

    My choice would be to find a nice used mini pickup truck. Two-wheel drive, if you can. You may need to freshen up the front end (ball joints, etc.), but you will find they last forever and are very handy. In fact you will likely be pestered by your friends who will ask to borrow it. The gas mileage won’t be bad either.

    If you need something with more passenger room look for a sedan, but try to find a light weight vehicle. Gasoline prices are not going down. Keep your oil changed at least every 5000 miles and pay attention to your owners manual service intervals.

  3. John says:

    Really enjoyed you on Pat’s show last night.
    Lots of fun and good information.
    God love Pat-was a wee bit harsh with that poor soul that just would not
    quit talking. ROFLMAO

    My best car was a Dodge with a slant 6. Great engine-but the body finally gave out and hit the dust before the motor ever did.

    The best to you on your future endeavors. Hopefully you will be back soon.
    With higher and higher gas prices people need all the help they can get.

    Me I decided to go really green last July and sold the car and just take the bus where I need to go. Wow between auto insurance and gas I save a tidy sum every month. Auto Ins. in Brockton is just as high like Boston.

    Now I leave the driving up to someone else.

    John

  4. jimsgarage says:

    John –

    I am glad that you enjoyed the show. It was a lot of fun for me, too.

    That slant 6 was a GREAT engine no matter what kind of vehicle Dodge put it in.

    Cheers,
    Jim

  5. Seamus says:

    I heard the show while driving around. Great story. I have another 15 years or so to work and I will definitely be doing something with cars when I retire. My first car was a 66 Ford Falcon inherited from my aunt. 170 cu in straight 6 with a three on the tree. Lots of fun driving around Boston in that. First car I bought was a 71 Chevelle with a 350 and a factory 4 speed. Used to race along Wollastan beach. Gas prices in the early 80’s forced the sale ($350 with 120k on it!). I recently got a 71 Oldsmobile Cutlass convertible for fun. Lots of guys in NH have a fun car, often from the 60’s/70’s. My trusty 96 Acura RL died this spring (251k) and rather than send her to the graveyard, I am parting her out and selling the parts online. It has been a lot of fun and I made some money for parts for the Cutlass. After working in software all week, it is fun to work on the “hardware” on the weekend, turning a wrench….

Leave a Reply

