Video from VIR HPDE Session May 29

Here are a couple of photos from one of the run group participants.  Thanks to Rick’s wife Debbie!

Here are a set of four videos  that make up the entire last session for me.


 
This entry was posted in Cars, Life and Cars, Racing, Road Racing, Sports Cars and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Video from VIR HPDE Session May 29

  1. markitude says:

    Wow Jim!

    Great videos. I see in the last one is where you ran out of gas at the end? I love that you left the little frustrated sigh in at the end. Smile.

    These really seem faster than the footage from four years ago. One can see you have a faster car and more skill now. The speed is apparent in the footage.

  2. Noel says:

    Nice work, Jim.

    I know you’re going fast, but have no sense of the speeds you’re hitting. I assume you’re pretty much flat out on the straights and running real hard in the corners. What are the speeds like?

    Was real impressed with the run with the ‘Vette. I bet he was a bit surprised, too, to see you glued to his rear view mirror.

    Great driving, dude.

  3. jimsgarage says:

    On the straights I was about 140. Climbing the “esses” I would do better than 100. Honestly I didn’t take a lot of time to check out the speedometer. I was busy trying to make sure that I kept to the correct line and keep up with traffic when it was around me. I doubt that I got much more than 6-7 miles per gallon so that tells me I was really smoking. When I would slow down for the corners after the long straights the steering wheel would vibrate as I was threshold braking. The Evo has ABS, but on the track it knows enough to stay out of your way. The computer is watching the G forces side to side and front to back as well as keeping track of the speed and acceleration at each wheel. The ACD (active center differential) does a great job of ensuring power goes where it can do the most good.

    Yes, the guy in the Corvette was impressed. He was very complementary and we have had a good time trading emails.

Leave a Reply

