Speeders get Tasered



This entry was posted in Cars, Life and Cars. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Speeders get Tasered

  1. Jim's sister says:

    And if they hadn’t had tazers, would they have shot the drivers? I wonder if the police academy trainers see these tapes and change how they train police to react in these situations. Something like this can undo months – years – of positive community relations actions. What is it going to take to stop the paranoia in this country from continuing to escalate?

  2. Noel says:

    Gestapo tactics like those are what you expect in China or some banana republic.
    There was no reason for people to have to get out of their cars, much less be tasered. The first guy couldn’t pull out his license and insurance card right away. Even if he was a bad guy, there are procedures for that kind of stop. The second one looked a little like entrapment, but it’s hard to tell. Still, refusal to sign a ticket is (as far as I know) not a misdemeanor or criminal offense.

    Would love to know came next in these cases. I’d sue the cop and whatever town, county or state he worked for if that happened to me. And I’d have it on national media in a heartbeat.

  3. Mark says:

    Noel,

    I have to agree as a matter of principle with you. It seems that if police treated people with the respect with which they wished to be treated, things would go a bit better. As civilians, we can youtube these things and flog them in the media, and perhaps more practically, we can manage ourselves a bit more in terms of how we react, and consider a few tactics to help things proceed to a positive outcome for us.

    My observation is that police want to feel their direction is being complied with. So, no matter what you are actually doing, providing some form of affirmation to them all during any encounter can go a long way. Keeping tone of voice lown and even. Saying, yes, absolutely, right away, etc can help them feel in control and reduce their need to escalate the situation to feel in control. I’ve been yelled at over the PA, surrounded, and all but held at gunpoint for stupid things in the past, and I’ve gotten through all of them my maintaining a positive and cooperative demeanor.

    I’m certainly no expert, I just do what I can to avoid the encounters in the first place, and when and if they occur to think about what I can do to make the officer comfortable and well disposed toward me.

    Last year, I was driving my truck with expired tags and inspection. I was in the right lane and saw a deputy passing traffic on the left (we were all going about 65). About halfway passed my truck he slowed and began puching away on his computer. I knew he was checking me out, so I slowed, rolled down the window, waved to get his attention and pointed to the side of the road. He looked up, nodded and followed me over. We stopped. He approached my window, and I had the license and registration available for him. He told me that he was pulling me for the tag, and I readily admitted it, and volunteered that the inspection was out, and the truck had been sitting for a while. He ran my license to check for warrants and then wrote me for the lessor charge, and explained the steps I could take to have the charge dismissed.

    Now, it was my good luck that he was a good natured fellow, but I also think it helped that I made his job easier, fessed up, even volunteered co-operation by pulling over before he turned on his lights.

    It may well take time, but the more the public can make the police feel appreciated, and respected, the less perhaps the police will gravitate toward an identify rooted solely in authority and power.

  4. Rodney says:

    The Taser was suppose to be device used in case where the office feels to be in danger or the suspect was trying to escape. Neither of these videos seem to fit that situation. It appeared to me that the officer showed no patience with any of the drivers and was on the offensive.

    I guess if the officers didn’t have a Taser, the drivers would be staring down the barrel of a pistol.

    Could the drivers actions been better, somewhat, yes. However the officers are suppose to be trained to know how to handle many different situations to avoid conflict. These officers went in looking for conflict to begin with.

    I’ve been pull over for simple speeding as well. And, in my case the officer approach the car, asked for driver’s license and registration. I told him where they were and slowly retrieved them for him. He then explained why he pulled me over, he then went back to his car, check things out, came back and decided to let me go, but asked to search my car. Knowing I had nothing to be concerned with, I said sure. Another officer pulled up and I was asked to go with him. So, I walked back of the officer car and the second officer perform a body search, while the other officer searched my car. Did I feel any of this was excessive, perhaps, but knowing the contents of my car I was not to worried. The fist officer soon returned, indicated I could go and that I had about the cleanest nine year old Mitsubishi Eclipse he had ever seen. Throughout the entire event, never did any of the officers speak rude to me, put me in cuffs or point a Taser at me.

  5. jimsgarage says:

    Well Rodney, maybe you should stop wearing that orange jump suit.

  6. Rodney says:

    You mean the one you gave me Xmas.

Leave a Reply

