Great Drivers – Lewis Hamilton


No, he didn’t win the formula One world championship in his rookie season, but he certainly made people stand up and take notice of his incredible talent.

The world renound BBC program Top Gear let him loose on their track to see what he could do in the “reasonably priced car” challenge.

Most telling is how much self-commentary you hear from Lewis as he drives the course in an oily wet surface.  Talk about smooth.

This entry was posted in Automobiles, Car Stuff, Great Drivers, Racing, Sports Cars. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Great Drivers – Lewis Hamilton

  1. Esteban says:

    Top gear is an excellent program, I wish I could get it here. It is interesting how the Brits manage to to have fun out of Kimi even when he DID win the championship in the most heroic comeback in the past 20 years. That’s how this people from the isles are, I guess (in the “Europe is no longer an island kind of way)

    Regarding Lewis, I think his phrase “it is actually quite exiting when you’re flying towards a barrier” depicts his personality perfectly. He’s not my favourite current F1 driver and I think his rookie year was somewhat scandalous due to the whole McLaren-Ferrari affair and his fight with Alonso (who I despise, by the way), but he’s one heck of a pilot. Sort of reminds me of Loeb…

    Nice video, Jim

  2. vanitylicenseplates says:

    I have a funny story about this kid. I live in Phx, AZ and one of my clients is Community Tire and they had an event in which Mario Andretti was signing autographs. I approached Mario to get his autograph and he stopped in mid sentance when he took one look at me and exclaimed “You look just like Lewis Hamilton!” I had no who this kid was but Mario was convinced I could be his twin. I took his word for it and had him sign my picture of him.

    Now I did step aside and google Mr. Hamilton from my blackberry and saw his face. Very close resemblance but I easily have 9 or 10 years superior on this kid.

    The very next week I had a man approach me and tell me the exact same thing. So naturally now I am a Lewis Hamilton fan. There is my little story and I hope you enjoyed it!

  3. jimsgarage says:

    What a great story. Thanks for sharing that one!

    Jim

Leave a Reply

