A New Garage Door

 p1010150s.jpg

Lately I have been sprucing up my thirty-year-old house with new siding, a new roof, and fresh paint.  It was also time to replace the old garage door with something that didn’t creek, sag, or flake off paint. 

I looked at the choices available to me in this area and decided to go with an Overhead Door product.  Not that Overhead is the cheapest product out there, but I already had been impressed by their Phantom door opener and I knew that the low clearance of my garage would be a real challenge.  Thirty years prior the local Overhead Door company had put in my old garage door, so I knew they could deal with installing a new one.

I decided to go with an insulated door since I obviously do a lot of work out in the garage.  I also wanted to get more natural light into the garage so I opted for a set of windows on the top section.  That would allow a lot of sun light in but would be high enough so prying eyes couldn’t scope out what was in the garage.

p1020012s.jpg

The big day came when the installers showed up.  They looked over the old door and track and decided that it would be best to re-use the old track since it was in fine shape and was configured to accommodate the low clearance required.

p1020016s.jpg

The first thing they did was to disconnect the cables and take the tension off the torsion springs.  The installers remarked at how well lubricated the torsion springs were.  Most garage door owners don’t take care of the springs by giving them a light coat of oil once in a while.  That shortens their life and makes it tougher for them to do their job.

p1020015s.jpg

Then they unbolted the door at its many hinges so that they could separate the sections of the old door and put them on their truck.  The old wooden door sections were obviously quite heavy and awkward.

With those out of the way they prepared the mounting of the new torsion springs and rods and set the new door sections on horses so that they could attach hinges and brackets to each section.

p1020036s.jpg

The first section was installed and then each section after that was set in place and the hinges were connected.  The torsion spring assembly was mounted and the last of the sections were put in place.

p1020055s.jpg

Then the springs were preloaded and the cables were attached.  The door was operated by hand a few times and minor adjustments were made.  Finally the opener was connected and the upper and lower limits were set.

p1020065s.jpg

My new garage door was complete and it gave the house a new look and the garage much better lighting.

 

p1020078s.jpg

This entry was posted in Garages and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A New Garage Door

  1. Lauri Shaw says:

    First, your new door is very attractive. What makes this door insulated? The sections look metal, a nice heat conductor. And second, I can’t remember what the old door used to look like – the brain is going. Do you have a “before” pic somewhere? Thanks!

  2. howard says:

    I can answer Lauri’s question for Jim(I don’t think he will mind).The new door sections are each constructed of two sheets of galvinized steel with polyurethane foam injected inside. The foam fills all the nooks and crannys and gives the door a rating of(r-12.76) which is about the same as a 2 x 4 wall with fiberglass insulation. Jim will notice a big difference on those “cold” NC nights for sure.

  3. jimsgarage says:

    Thanks Howard.

    Lauri – the old door was wood and very heavy. The new door, even having the steel shell, is much lighter and has better insulating qualities. I’ll see if I can dig up a “before” photo for you.

  4. Jim says:

    Squaring the corners of the outside framing was a good move!

  5. Noel says:

    I replaced my two, 35-year-old wooden doors maybe three years ago. Similar to Jim’s but without windows. Those can be added (by replacing the upper panel) if I want them. I opted for the insulated ones here in the frozen north and they do make a difference.

    It was amazing. A two-man crew came in, pulled out all the old doors and tracks, put up the new tracks and doors in about 3 hours. What a difference!

  6. Great job! Looks like it was very professionally done…lighting coming through the garage door looks amazing – makes it an actual feature to the house – which is unusual!

  7. Arthur says:

    Informative site, very useful.

  8. Christine says:

    My husband is a do it yourselfer and he thinks he can replace our garage door. After seeing all these pictures, theres no way he can. Glad I found this, it’s going to save me a major weekend migraine. I’m going to have a professional residential garage door company come do the install.

  9. Timmy says:

    Overhead door. Look at your panels and the joints at either the top or bottom and do they interlock or is just a piece of black foam joining the 2 together? Does the panel have a step or flat then raised then flat top for stacking? There are only three garage doors I deal with as a business garex, garaga, laforge. Primarilly hardware from commercial 2″ to chi resi.

  10. john says:

    The door would look even better if the right height door was installed. Windows frames are to close to outside header. Door must overlap header at least 1 1/2″. They should have bought the right new track. Some manufacture will void a warranty if the complete package isn’t used.

  11. Brunild says:

    I like how the squared corners look! I think I found the perfect idea for my own garage door.

Leave a Reply

