Return from the Cape

Sunday I spent 14 hours driving back home from Cape Cod.  It is a tough place to leave.  The weather was terrific and I enjoyed the ocean in many different ways, from the shore, to fishing, to feasting the food it produces.

For me it is always good to spend time with old friends and have a chance to talk about what has happened since my last visit.

While I was there I attended a fantastic outdoor car show in Bourne where there were hundreds if not a thousand cars of all kinds for viewing.  I also had lunch with Chris Szwedo a film maker that has produced a couple of the most fascinating car documentaries ever seen on PBS.

I’ll have the details in later entries, but now I need to catch up with all the things that must be attended to back at home.

p1000593s.jpg

This entry was posted in Road Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Return from the Cape

  1. Judy says:

    The time went by too quickly as always…we miss you already!

  2. Lauri Shaw says:

    When we left the Cape for DC in early September, it took two of us 11 and a half hours to do the drive and two days afterward to recover. The last hour, I was thinking I’m too old to continue doing this; if it weren’t for the other driver, I’d have bought the farm. I couldn’t keep my eyes open no matter how strong my desire to do so. I don’t know how you do it alone on such a long journey.

  3. Noel says:

    My family and I just did a 14 hour run from New Hampshire to Nova Scotia. It gets broken in the middle by a ferry boat ride–sort of like 3 hours in a service area on the highway– but it’s still 7.5 hours of driving, ride the boat, then 2.5 more driving. Split the driving one way with my wife, the other direction 3 ways–wife, me and daughter.
    But in my mind it would have been just as easy solo. Probably easier.

    I do a 7 to 8 hour run across NH, MA and upstate NY to Rochester several times a year and it’s gotten to be routine. About 4 hours into the run I realize my mind is clearing out and I’m feeling great. About the time I arrive at either end I’m about due for a nice break, maybe an hour. Then I could go again for another 6 or 7 with a break half way. Even when the snow hits in winter, which can make it a 10-12 hour ride it’s just a bit more tiring, but no biggie.

    I actually find a long run quite relaxing. It’s all preparation and attitude. A comfy car with good seats, good tunes and books on tape, fluids and munchies, and the miles just roll away. The attitude part is interesting and individual. I actually find it easier to do a long run solo because I only have to think about my own needs. When someone else is along you have to be social enough to chat or listen and generally be attentive to each other. That’s cool some of the time but can also be more tiring. But then I’m kinda warped because I like to do all types of travel alone. I have just as good a time alone as with other people, even in foreign countries.

    Glad you had a good time on the Cape, Jim. Always good to go home.

Leave a Reply

