On the Road – Travel to SD

 Today I left Wyoming and headed to Rapid City, SD.  It was a driving day and no museums were on the schedule.  As I pulled out of Laramie to get on the many state roads that would take me to South Dakota, I found myself behind this.

dscn6634s.jpg

I hoped to get a side shot, but it was not possible as they turned left at the next traffic light.  I will tell you that it was a very nicely done custom with side exhaust pipes tucked in to the running boards and many other slick touches.

On I went to the first leg of the many connections to get to Rapid City.  I was enjoying the scenery and thinking about the wild life that I get to see.  There are Pronghorns and Mule Deer as well as Bison that you see as you drive these roads.

dscn6648s.jpg

Then I noticed that my radar detector was no longer lit up.  It is on the same circuit as the cigarette lighter that I use to keep the laptop alive.  By this time the laptop battery was down to 40%.  I pulled the adapter plug out of the cigarette lighter socket and found it hot and melting.  Rats.  Not good.

I closed the lid on the laptop so it would suspend and stop sucking up power and running down the battery.  When a rest area came up I pulled over and swapped out the fuse.  That got the radar detector going, but the power adapter for the laptop was toast. 

I opened the lid and check how many miles to my next road change and closed the lid again to conserve battery power.  I only opened it up when I knew by mileage that a course change was coming up.  It would hold me until I reached Rapid City and a Radio Shack to replace the power adapter.

dscn6658s.jpg

The countryside went through several changes and then I made it to South Dakota.  I came across this two-mile train carrying cars loaded with coal.  A few more miles down the road and there was another two-mile train coming the other way with empty cars.

dscn6674s.jpg

One of the junctions took me through Hot Springs and the speed limit was down to 25 mph.  As I cruised through the town I saw a used car lot with some interesting old cars out front so I stopped and took some photos. 

dscn6691s.jpg

dscn6693s.jpg

dscn6700s.jpg

As I was doing that a guy pulled up and asked me if I would like to see a couple of cars he had.  His name was Michael Crawford and used to run a used car lot himself.  In his yard were a ’55 Buick and a Packard of a similar vintage.  

dscn6705s.jpg

dscn6709s.jpg

It is always a treat to find these little collections.  You know they are out there, but finding them is very difficult.

After that I had about fifty miles more to go.  I found my hotel and then the local Radio Shack to solve my power problem.

dscn6713s.jpg

Tomorrow there is what looks to be an interesting place called the Motion Unlimited Museum and Antique Car Lot.

This entry was posted in Automobiles, Car Museums, Car Stuff, Cars, Road Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On the Road – Travel to SD

  1. Tim says:

    Sounds like another smooth day on the road Jimster. BTW I love your pics – they always look really good. I know you use your cell camera a lot, but what is your main camera? I’ve been debating on a small point & shoot to carry with me, but I keep spending money on other stuff…stupid cars 😛

  2. jimsgarage says:

    Tim –

    I use a Nikon CoolPix 5000. I picked it up about 3 years ago as a refurb. I like the Nikon lens and having 5 megapixals gives me a lot of clairity in the shots. It also has a great optical zoom.

    I don’t think I ever used the view finder, but use the monitor screen instead. What i like about the Nikon screen is the swivel capability so the I can point the camera and still see what the shot will be like even if I lift it over my head.

    The camera uses compact flash for memory and will also take a micro drive. That works wel for me because I can just pop out the compact flash and pop it in my laptop. That makes it so easy to transfer all the shots I’ve taken.

  3. Noel says:

    The Nikon 5000 is a great little cam. Couple friends have them. Had the earlier model, the 950. It took great pics but it was only 2.2 megapixels–that was 6 years ago. The swivel capability is really nice. It used a CompactFlash card which plugged into an adapter for the PC slot on my Mac. Fast and easy.

    I’m using a Canon now, a PowerShot A540. It fits in a pocket and has 6 MP, the same as my Nikon DSLR. It uses the SD card which goes to the Mac via a little USB thingy. Also very easy. I miss the swivel but what’s really nice is that it takes 30 FPS video (that’s full motion). I have video taken while driving Highway One in California and other places. I wanted the video capability –it’s amazingly useful– and the Nikons available only do 15 FPS, which is not so great. The Canon was under $200 from B&H Photo in NYC.

    You can’t go wrong with either brand. I think Nikons may have better lenses, but you’ll never notice the difference unless you do a side by side comparison.

  4. Noel says:

    It’s amazing how many of the old cars from the ’50s and ’60s you’ve found sitting in open lots and people’s garages. You rarely see them back here in New England, except at old car events and occasional “cruises” the owners do. But you’re finding them sitting by the side of the road.

  5. markitude says:

    Jim,

    As the others, love the car pics. I’ll comment on something else – the two mile long coal train. We see them here too, although they aren’t that long. It’s something people don’t stop to dwell upon, the shear staggering ammount of coal, oil, gas that is consumed daily making the world go round. You see something like this train and realize it’s probably less than 1% of what’s used daily, and you multiply it by 365 days in the year, and then by the last 100 or so years, and it’s amazing. It is truly difficult to comprehend.

Leave a Reply

