On the Road – Americas Lonliest Road

 I decided to head on to Utah and stay away from the Interstates again.  So I took US 50 which is known as the loneliest road in America.

dscn6380s.jpg

It didn’t start out that way.  It began like most roads with plenty of businesses and houses. 

dscn6386s.jpg

Then I hit the real US 50.

dscn6390s.jpg

Words cannot do justice to the views and expanse of this road.  The elevation sometimes approached 7000 feet or more but the valleys would drop to 4000 feet and go on for miles.  You might travel for twenty miles, thirty miles, or almost forty miles to cross these expanses.

I’ll let you look for yourself:

dscn6394s.jpg

dscn6399s.jpg

dscn6404s.jpg

In Ely, NV, I came to the end of US 50 and will spend the night here.  In the morning I’ll switch to US 93 and head to the Bonneville salt flats.

This entry was posted in Cars, Great Roads, Road Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On the Road – Americas Lonliest Road

  1. Esteban says:

    Sounds like heaven to me, the US 50. Maybe due to my “patagonic background” I am fond to desolated routes.

  2. Noel says:

    And did you have the opportunity to do a little top speed testing on the loneliest road?

    I know I could not have resisted the opportunity!

  3. jimsgarage says:

    It was actually in AZ that I was able to hit 140 +. Out on US 50 I would stay at 90 most of the time. The oil temp stayed at about 80 degrees centigrade unless I was on the turbo and climbing the mountain roads. Most of the time means except when I got into the mountains where there were a lot of curves and a couple of switchbacks.
    At one point, as I reached the end of a valley road (read VERY straight) I could see the flashing blue and red lights of a trooper. When I finally got up to the car I saw that he had stopped a Viper. I kept to 80 as I passed them and didn’t ruffle any feathers. The posted speed limit (except in the mountains and towns) was 70.

  4. Mary says:

    So glad you took 50 and not 80!
    Mary, Sox, and Sissy (the orange tabby)
    Andruss Motel
    Walker,CA

  5. Noel says:

    So nice to be able to drive at a reasonable rate. Gotta love the west. I’ve gone by cops in AZ at 90 and they don’t even blink. Montana is reportedly good for up to about 100 these days, but if you go up that way, get gas someplace and ask for local knowledge.

    Wonder how fast the Viper had been going? And what the speed tolerance of the cops is. My guess is at or north of the century mark. Viper boy was probably well north. ;^)

    Back in the good old days before the bad old 55 speed limit was in place, Nevada had NO speed limit. That would have been fun. Then came lawyers and insurance companies.

Leave a Reply

