On the Road – Car movies

As I travel by road across these American states I cannot help but think about various movies that I identify with the places I’m driving through or staying in.

This morning I’ll be heading into Nevada and driving to Reno and I’m sure the 1971 movie, Vanishing Point, will come to mind.  I’ll look at the road ahead of me and see the vastness of the landscape and think about Kowalsi’s car and his quest for meaningful freedom.

The past three days I’ve been just outside of Los Angeles and I think about the 1985 movie To Live and Die in LA.  I might even think about the 1974 movie, Freebie and the Bean.

When I traveled to Alabama and Mississippi I thought back on the 1969 movie, Easy Rider.  The Barber Museum even had a reproduction of the motorcycle that Peter Fonda rode in the movie on display.

dscn4249s.jpg

When I get to Utah and the Bonneville Speedway Museum I’m sure I’ll think about the 2005 film, World’s Fastest Indian.  I’ll also think about the documentary from Chris Szwedo, Gullwing at Twilight.  I also think of John Fitch every time I see those yellow and black impact barrels at bridge abutments.

If I went to San Francisco on this trip (already been there previously) I’d think about the 1968 movie Bullitt and the 1971 film Dirty Harry.

This trip around the country has reminded me of the 1971 film Two Lane Blacktop, at least in terms of the journey.

Watching the people in this land as I travel from place to place I hope that I am not seeing America as it morphs into the 2006 movie Idiocracy, but some times I wonder.

When I looked through the Peterson Museum’s exhibit on alternative powered cars I thought a lot about the 2006 movie, Who Killed the Electric Car.  While in Pasadena I was able to spend and evening with Judy and Paul MacCready where we discussed alternative energy and cars and the future of mankind.

Traveling through west Texas I thought about the 1985 film Fandango and all the road trip scenes in there.

When I crossed New Mexico it was 1954 and Them!

As I walked around the Pima Air Museum in Tucson, AZ, I thought about the 1964 classic, Dr. Strangelove as well as the 1949 classic, Twelve O’Clock High.

Driving across the desert I can’t help being reminded of the 1979 movie Mad Max and its 1981 sequel,  Mad Max 2 (a.k.a. the Road Warrior), and wonder if we will ever get to that point.

Its interesting how movies and cars and places are related to each other in our memories.  I guess the same can be said for music.  I could probably devote an entire blog to music and cars, but someone has probably done that already.

This entry was posted in Automobiles, Car Movies, Car Stuff, Cars, Road Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On the Road – Car movies

  1. Tim says:

    Idiocracy…an oh so true glimpse into the future…did I mention I don’t want kids? 😛

    BTW we got the Goat’s suspension done Jim (thanks to Mark’s help), you gotta come give her a follow up test drive.

Leave a Reply

