On the Road – Tupelo, MS

The drive to Tupelo was not a long one in a relative sense.  I arrived prior to eleven, but you also have to factor in that I changed time zones.   Again I stayed off the major interstates and therefor was able to see the countryside.  Fascinating is not an adjective that comes to mind. 

I filled up my tank once in the morning.  As I pumped in the fuel I stared at the petroleum company’s signage.  I was struck by the contrast in how science is portrayed.

Back in the 1960’s the complexities of science were stressed and the word gunk would not even have been considered for use in a advertisement that was to impress customers with the quality and sophistication of petroleum products.  Terms like carbon deposits, tars, gums, varnishes, I can recall being used in advertisements, but never this.

 

 Today I checked in to Tupelo, MS and then drove north about twenty miles to Booneville to find that the Frank’s Museum and Antiques no longer exists.  I did get to talk to someone in the Booneville Chamber of Commerce who informed me that they no longer received brochures from the place either.

So tomorrow I will stay and see the Tupelo Automobile Museum and then on to Arkansas.

This entry was posted in Automobiles, Car Museums, Cars, Road Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On the Road – Tupelo, MS

  1. Rodney says:

    At the museum, Say hi to Elvis for me.

  2. markitude says:

    I can’t help note the two valves in the ad pictured. Intake valves are typically the larger of the two, and have the benefit of being washed continually by the incoming air/gas charge. Exhaust valves run hotter, and often develop heavy carbon deposits on the backs of them if the engine burns oil, or leaks oil from the valve stem seals.

    Could it be that some unscrupulous ad firm pulled the intake and exhaust valves from a cylinder, noted the difference in deposits and tacked on some labels to give the impression that their gas keeps things cleaner.

    Ha! surely not.

  3. jimsgarage says:

    And I thought it magically made your valves larger as it cleaned the “gunk” off them!

Leave a Reply

