How About Some Help Here

Folks – I am planning a long road trip around the US and I would appreciate your input. 

The purpose of this trip is to get to see some of this big country of ours and not spend the majority of my time on the Interstate (which is pretty much the same view where ever you drive).

I would like to take in some places that are specific to my passion of cars.  For example, I’d like to be sure to drop by Midland, TX and see the Jim Hall Chaparral Museum.  I would like to be sure and drive some interesting roads like parts of Route 66.

If you have any suggestions or if you have found some special places to visit please let me know by commenting on this entry.

Jim

This entry was posted in Automobiles, Car Stuff, Cars, Life and Cars, Road Trips, Sports Cars. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How About Some Help Here

  1. markitude says:

    Wow Jim!

    What a trip for inspiration! I’d of course have to plug two of my interests and opt for a stop at Bowling Green Kentucky to see the Corvette Museum, and also the towing museum in Chattanooga, TN. http://www.internationaltowingmuseum.org.

    There was a “One lap of America” kind of event where people drove around to various tracks and did road race, 1/4 mile, 1/8 mile, circle and oval tracks. That might be an interesting way to go as well. And then there are always the tuner shops to stop in.

    Maybe there are some really famous cruise strips – you could figure one into your circuit – see other people’s creations and expressions – maybe out on the west coast.

    Of course, you were looking for input on interesting roads to drive, and alas, I have ground away too many years shifting between 1st and 2nd in the orange barreled urban wasteland that is RTP.

  2. If you decide to do 66, make sure to check out the National Historic Route 66 Federation at http://www.national66.com and also found the appropriate guide book (or two!) at http://www.route66guidebooks.com . There is an entire Yahoo! grop dedicated to Route 66 with over 1,000 members, some of which are noted preservationists, authors, photographers, and artists.

    I’d also highly recommend the following old trails or highways:
    1. Lincoln Highway, first transcontinental road from NYC to San Francisco
    2. Pacific Coast Highway
    3. US-395, north from the Cajon Pass (Los Angeles Basin) to at least Reno (it goes to around Spokane, I believe)
    4. US-6 was the longest US highway, stretching from Provinceton, MA (Cape Cod) to Long Beach, CA. Most of it is still signed and certified.
    5. US-20 stretches from coast to coast near the Canadian border

    Whatever trip you take, I’m anxious to hear about it and live vicariously through you! Enjoy the road and happy travels.

  3. jimsgarage says:

    Scott –

    Thanks! Those are some excellent suggestions. Please folks keep them coming.

    Jim

    P.S., with the help of technology and the Internet I’ll try to keep a running log of my road trip.

  4. Noel says:

    Going all the way to the Left Coast? Then you gotta drive Highway 1 from LA to San Francisco. I did this for the first time last weekend. Amazing road, astonishing scenery. LA is as horrible as ever, but once you get about 20 miles above Malibu it starts getting real nice. I stayed in Morro Bay on Friday night and took two days to get to SF, with lots of stops for photography. I don’t know when the Pebble Beach concours and classic car races are at Laguna Seca, but maybe it can fit your schedule.

    Have a great trip, wherever you go.

  5. Jim
    Drop me an email off list to keep in touch if you want, as I’m not very good about reading the internet. 🙂 I’m reachable at rt66prods@yahoo.com

    If you want to drop me a line as you are driving around, and let me know where you are and what direction you are headed, I’ll be more than happy to respond back as quickly as I can with some ideas and suggestions.

    Best of luck and enjoy the trip!

Leave a Reply

