Thoughts on a Road Trip

Here in North Carolina spring is right around the corner.  I feel sorry for those stuck in the northern climes, but not so sorry that I am going to ignore the fact that daffodils have already come up and bloomed.  It won’t be long before everything will start popping around here and it inspires me to take some time off from work and put together a road trip.

Deal’s Gap and the Tail of the Dragon would be nice, but I’d like to see if there are some other interesting places to go and save the “tail” for later in the fall.

I’ve heard of a MicroCar Museum in Georgia that might be interesting.  I need to search the Internet for some other choices.

What to look for?

It could be a great driving experience like the Tail of the Dragon.  It could be a car museum or something close to it.  I’ve heard that there is an eccentric car collector in Virginia that has amassed a huge collection from the 40’s, 50’s and 60’s, but keeps them outside in the weeds.  It might be a nice place to explore and take some photos of before they rust away.

I thought of visiting a race track or two.  I met a guy a couple of years ago that bought an NSX, put a supercharger on the engine, and decided to take a road trip around the country stopping at road racing tracks and participating in HPDE (high performance driving experience) events at each track.  That would be fun, but I really don’t want to have to be that serious right now.  For HPDE you really should have your car prepped for track time and then be prepared to service it again right after the weekend.  Not much fun driving back home for hundreds of miles with worn out brakes and maybe something else broken.  I’ll save that for another time.

It would be fun to visit a race track especially if it had a museum associated with it.  Bring my video camera and catch some track action and do some interviews with people.  That would be fun.

Maybe there would be a driving school that would be fun to go to.  Take an advanced anti-terrorist driving school or rally school.

I’m not sure if I want to try this over a long weekend or take a whole week off.  It would depend on where I would go and what would be there to see. 

If anyone has some ideas – let me know!

 tlb.jpg

This entry was posted in Automobiles, Cars, Life and Cars, Road Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

